Poems

The Pursuit Of Contentment

Mother
Why do people still believe in a happy life
When there is malice in the world
How do they keep themselves satisfied
Are they selfish
Or are they selfless
Mother
Do people pray for others
Or for themselves
Is karma real
Or is it a mere tool for survival and
A necessity to do good for everyone
Mother
Will I be blessed if I don’t pray for myself
But I pray for the family
That I was born into
But I’m not content with my life
Is this how I should survive
Mother
Can I wish for my happiness over others
In my pursuit for others’ wellbeing
So that as I pray for everyone
There is a smile on my face
Enlightened by a beautiful heart
Mother
Is there a righteous being ever on earth
Who can shine an unforgiving light
On the good truth of the right way of life
It’s troubling for my heart to choose
Between us two

Mother
I need an answer
To let my heart and mind
Be one
So when I leave everyone in the world alone
I’m happy and there are too

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

