Poems, Thoughts

Leave Me Alone

Did you ask me
How am I
Oh boy
Each morning no longer feels like a challenge
The heart is tired
Every day is a drag
Can you ask me a different question
How about that new assignment
No, not that
Wait what is that
We have a new worksheet
Don’t talk to me
I’m going to sleep
It’s troubling
Oh yes it is
Where has my energy disappeared to
You can tell, can’t you
Read my eyes
Tell me it’s true
I don’t even want to do this anymore
I cannot stand your voice
Any longer
Move
Let me be with myself
Alone

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

