Poems

The Broken Dream

Everything is circling
Around me like a tornado
I grab the wall
Rub my eyes
And a yawn escapes from my mouth
I look at my bed
A reminiscent of the ocean blue
I jump on it
And hurt my toe
But I don’t feel the pain
I can only sense the ocean
I’m finally swimming
It looks so comforting
I stretch far to reach the seashell
But I’m jostled awake by the sound of crash
There are glass pieces on the floor
By my bed
I lay back and stare at the ceiling
Bring me back to the sea
But I can’t
It’s only the ceiling
And my bed
And the shattered glass on the floor

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

