Poems, Thoughts

The Journey

Upon entering, I scan the perimeter
I grumble in my mind and find a corner
What to do?
I ask myself
Observe the people perhaps
And I do
One is sleeping
The other is drooling
The kid is wailing
And you’re just staring
Hold it, you staring at me?
Take your sunglasses off lady
Don’t be a prick
Then the old man comes in
Looking around hopeless
I stare at a young one
He ignores
Maybe it’s not the reserved you’re on
But that makes me think you’re crude
Perhaps you’re saving it for your girlfriend
Ah forget it, the uncle finally got a Reserved
And now my legs are craming
Because I don’t stand properly
Leaning against what covered the two extra seats that could have been there
But I forgive for you cannot fight the increasing numbers
I think its half my journey already
It’s very noisy in the dark
Did I tell you the sun makes me happy?
And ironically I hate being under the sun
Because I cannot get too tanned
Or not my parents can’t wed me anymore
Okay it’s getting overboard
Six more stops and I’m still standing
I’ve killed my readings
I’ll dread it in a bit
When she calls my name
And I’ll act smart by giving a stupid answer
Oh crap, it’s that feeling
I should have eaten my breakfast, darn it
Too nauseous to even bother
Breathe, oh look I’ve reached
Thank the angels
Now to the washroom
Bye

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

