Poems

Childhood Innocence

Faint whispers I hear

As I stay up all night

That sudden screech from above

A sudden shadow passes by

I walk out to the living room

It is pure darkness

Just a little light shining through the curtains

And the sound of the wind against the windows

I return to my seat

My fingers jumping across the keyboard

Someone coughs from the next room

I jerk as my heart skips a beat

Taking in a deep breathe

I adjust my seat

The screech comes back

And the faint sounds return

I shut this down

Off the lights

Lay in bed

Hugging my pillow in fright

 

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

