Poems

I’m Free

My feet ache

Those anklets prick

These earrings are too heavy

 

But wait, what do I see?

 

Notes

That’s what I need

All I need

What am I even here for

 

My feet needs to ache

Those anklets can prick

These earrings will be heavy

 

But that treasure in their hands

 

Can take me to places

Perhaps far away from here

Rid of this guilt

An escape from such shame

 

A million tries won’t hurt

This is the time

My hands are glowing

 

But wait, will it happen?

 

She takes half of what I earn

I beg for mercy but

She throws me into another hall

I fall into the same trap again

 

My elegance is of the royal

Among the royal

Who don’t treat me like one

 

But all I can see is the treasure

 

I’m desperate, oh yes

I see an open window

My bag is packed

One gold bangle and a pair of earrings

 

It’s a success

I see the brightly lit street

Men with eyes full of lust

 

But, is this real?

 

I cover myself in a red shawl

And run out of the colony

The trishaw brings me into an orphanage

It’s filthy but it’s a good filth

 

A good filth, I’m free

Shoosh, don’t tell my mother I’m here

She’ll throw me into another hall.

 

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

