Thoughts

Thank You!

I know for some, having your phone next to you is the biggest distraction during your study break (when you are mugging for your finals), but for me, it no longer serves as a “distraction”. It is, to be very honest, my only link to the sane world where people are wrecking their brains the same way I am!

Yes, you could ask, “Why aren’t you studying together with your friends then?”

Well, let’s put it this way: I live two hours away from school, we all like our private space of study and we might just end up talking about something else instead of studying. Trust me, your friends could be your biggest distraction… me included. ūüėõ

So once we’re in our private space, we get all the freedom to do what we want. You name it ‚ÄĒ stretch your body like a cat, put your feet up on your study table like a boss, have the entire table to yourself which end up looking like a jungle of papers of notes scribbled with doctor’s handwriting. Yes. My handwriting. ūüė¶

But wait… studying together means sharing of knowledge right?

I agree. What are technologies for?

My group chats on WhatsApp will flood¬†many¬†times! We¬†constantly engage in¬†thorough discussions of¬†our concepts and analysis. We take pictures of our notes and share with one another. We’re selfless, aren’t we? Oh, and sometimes Skype or Facebook works too!

Yes. We live and thrive in the virtual generation. It gives us the ease in doing things, just like how we are able to study on our own, yet be with our friends at the same time... virtually.

The technology around us works like a social structure. We are so reliant on it that if it is gone, it would seem as though a calamity had struck us. It’s just like how chaos could ensue when we have no social structure in our society! I learnt this in class.

Alright. Enough of the sociological imagination.

My key point:

What I¬†would like to share¬†is that what keeps me sane is not really the ability to converse and discuss with my friends. It is, in fact, our conversations of goodwill! We are not only discussing or brainstorming. We also check on one another. We make sure we are still “alive”. We perk one another up.¬†It creates a¬†sense of care and concern ‚ÄĒ you know that your friends know that we are not alone in this. This is beginning to sound like a really serious situation but I hope you get my point.

It makes me happy. I feel loved! And I hope I made you feel loved too!

I would like to say THANK YOU to all of you! I can’t even imagine my state of mind without such a concerned circle of friends.

And not forgetting what complimented our late night conversations:

chocolates

sweets

crackers

tea (lots of it… ¬†I need to ‘nail’¬†my masala tea some day!)

Standard

Leave a Reply

