Poems

regret

this inferno spreads through my body

it shouts the cries of peril

unsynchronised gestures

red eye monster

consciousness fade little by little

wait, where am I?

 

I need to leave

drums beating down my head

my wheels are far away

I am a tree swaying in the wind

the smell of leather and dry ice

taste of bile in my mouth

spit, cough, waterfall

 

slam my feet on the pedal

need to leave this dungeon

why is it so foggy today?

my lashes are damp

the lights are blaring

lost in this darkness

 

I am suffocating within myself

my head is damped

the wheel is red

press on, press on but

they stop me from the front

blue uniforms drag me out

I wasn’t the only one in red

 

my hands are tied with silver chains

a white blanket covers her

the redness never ceased to flow

like my endless chugs

it’s a start of something new

where did I go wrong?

 

– Parveen Maghera

Standard

Leave a Reply

